Art Nouveau

It was my mum’s (34th or thereabouts-ish) birthday recently and so I thought I’d make her something. No I’m not being cheap! I’m being thoughtful. Whatever. Shut up.

Anyway, Mrs Jordan’s a big fan of Art Nouveau and I spotted this old tile in “Pictures & Light”, a lovely little shop on Stoke Newington Church Street. It was originally from a fireplace surround but I thought it would look nice framed as a mat for things such as teapots and vases.

I bought some old American Red Oak from General Woodwork Supplies (now closed, sob…), planed it to a nice finish, set up a rig to jigsaw it into equal strips, used a mitre box to create four equal sides, sawed and chiselled a ledge on the inside of each piece to hold the tile, treated it all with a matt clear varnish and glued the whole shebang together.

I’m pretty chuffed with the result, even if the mitres aren’t 100% perfect.

But most importantly, my mum seemed to like it. Happy days.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Maddy says:

    I’m completely traumatised by the loss of the General Woodwork Supplies too. Do you know any alternatives? Maddy x

    1. Gutted. There’s a place down the road in haggerston, but I haven’t tested it yet. I shall let you know if it’s worthy…

Go on, say it!